Dunloy, Ballymena

© 2018 by Unit Updates.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

Banagher Have Too Much for Swatragh

Mark Lynch lifts the Leadon Timberframe Derry IHC title.

St Mary's Banagher 0-21

Davitt's Swatragh 0-08

A blistering opening half from St Mary's set the tone for this match as Banagher swept Swatragh aside to lift the Leadon Timberframe Derry IHC title this afternoon in Owenbeg.

With just 0-03 on the board at half-time, Swatragh sprung Michael Kirkpatrick from the bench and despite the forward adding 0-05 in the second period as Banagher eased to the title.

After a frantic opening four minutes, Sean McCullagh and Declan Quinn traded points to open the scoring, while Steafan McCloskey and Fintan McGurk followed suit, but Banagher soon took control of the early stages.

Tiarnan McCloskey fired Banagher back in front from a free before his side hit an impressive 0-07 without reply, points from McCullagh, Jonathan O'Dwyer, Steafan McCloskey, Ciaran Lynch, Oisín McCloskey and Darragh Cartin stretching the lead to eight points.

Swatragh hit back in the 19th minute with a Declan Quinn free and while it quelled the Banagher momentum, the reprieve was temporary, Darragh Cartin's 26th minute point getting them moving again.

Steafan McCloskey followed with a point before Brian Óg McGilligan forced his way from a ruck to become Banagher's ninth different scorer of the afternoon. Tiarnan McCloskey then shot over the final score of the half to leave St Mary's eight ahead at the break.

Sean Kearney Cars Man of the Match Sean McCullagh.

Michael Kirkpatrick entered the fray at half-time and it took the experienced Swatragh man just four minutes to hit his first, firing over a free following a foul on Dominic Bradley.

Jonathan O'Dwyer's second of the afternoon pegged them back immediately and Tiarnan McCloskey added another score from a free before a trio of Kirkpatrick points briefly lifted Davitt's hopes.

Brian Óg McGilligan flashed a shot over the bar to break Kirkpatrick's flow but the Swatragh man hit back with another free to leave ten between them.

Sean McCullagh's quickfire brace only served to underline his side's superiority before Tiarnan McCloskey converted another free to end the afternoon's scoring with Banagher triumphing by 13 points.

St Mary's will now enter the Ulster series where they have been drawn against Naomh Éanna of Antrim. Both teams were involved in the Ulster IFC last season after they won their respective football championships and will provide an intense encounter when they meet in a few weeks.

St Mary's: Darrel McDermott, Gabriel Farren, Ruairí McCloskey, Shane Murphy (0-01), Darragh McCloskey, Mark Lynch, Niall Farren, Ciaran Lynch (0-01), Brian Óg McGilligan (0-02), Sean McCullagh (0-04), Steafan McCloskey (0-01), Darragh Cartin (0-03), Tiarnan McCloskey (0-05f, 0-01 - 65), Oisín McCloskey (0-01), Jonathan O'Dwyer (0-02).

Subs: Cathair McGilligan for Darragh McCloskey 46', Pauric McCloskey for Jonathan O'Dwyer 49', Liam Eoin Campbell for Ciaran Lynch 55', Fintan McGilligan for Sean McCullagh 58'.

Davitt's: Conor O'Kane, Mark Cassidy, Malachaí O'Hagan, Cahal McQuillan, Cathal Quinn, Tiarnan Walsh, Niall O'Doherty, Eugene McGuckin, Sean Francis Quinn, Sean Martin Quinn, Eoghan O'Kane, Dominic Bradley, Fintan McGurk (0-01), Niall McQuillan, Declan Quinn (0-01f, 0-01).

Subs: Michael Kirkpatrick (0-02, 0-03f) for Cahal McQuillan HT, Sean Óg O'Kane for Cathal Quinn 41', Conor Quinn for Dominic Bradley 52', Seamus McFerran for Fintan McGurk 58', Darren McNicholl for Declan Quinn 58'.

Referee: Owen Elliott - All Saints' Ballymena

Man of the Match: Sean McCullagh - St Mary's Banagher