Dunloy, Ballymena

© 2018 by Unit Updates.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

Div 1B & 2 Claimed in Derry as 1A Goes To The Wire

Glen and Slaughtneil will shoot it out for the Division 1A title after both won tonight to set up the mid-week clash.

A topsy-turvy night in the Derry ACFL sets up an incredible finale in Division 1A, there was a final-day twist at the top of Division 2 and Division 1B was confirmed as the silverware found a home.

The Emmet Park stage is set for Wednesday evening as top two Watty Graham’s and Slaughtneil meet to decide the league title. Both were victorious tonight, with Glen 1-16 to 0-12 winners over Lavey and the Emmet’s men defeating Ballinascreen 3-09 to 2-10.

The holders will need a home victory to retain their crown, while a draw will do for the league leaders.

Elsewhere, Swatragh ensured a 3rd place finish with a 2-13 to 1-09 win over Ballinderry, Bellaghy moved 5th after a 1-16 to 1-10 win at home to Banagher, Eoghan Rua defeated Rossa Magherafelt 2-17 to 0-12 and The Loup recorded a 1-14 to 1-12 win over Dungiven.

Claudy clinched the Division 1B title with a 0-13 to 0-10 win over their nearest challengers Newbridge this evening. Sean O’Leary’s go into the final round needing a final-day win over Faughanvale to secure promotion to the top flight.

Should they lose, Greenlough, who beat Steelstown 1-13 to 2-09, can slip into 2nd place if they record a win over Glenullin on the final day. The Mitchell’s side are attempting their own Great Escape and lifted themselves out of the drop zone tonight with a 2-18 to 1-10 win over Drumsurn.

Ballymaguigan’s 0-13 to 2-17 defeat away to Faughanvale means they drop into the bottom two while Limavady dragged Castledawson into the mire with a 4-08 to 2-13 victory over St Malachy’s this evening.

The results leave ‘Dawson, ‘Quigan and Glenullin together on 6 points and leave a faint glimmer of hope for Na Cúnna who occupy the bottom spot going into the final round. Steelstown on 8 points should be safe but will hope for something from their final game away to Foreglen just to be sure.

Elsewhere, Kilrea returned to 4th place with a 2-15 to 0-12 win at Pearse Park over Foreglen.

St Mary’s Slaughtmanus were presented with the Division 2 title this evening after they clinched with title in a 1-17 to 0-08 win over Moneymore. Promotion was already assured but it will be Lissan who join them in next year’s Division 1B.

The St Michael’s side snatched 2nd place from incumbents Doire Trasna after their second win in a week this evening. They took home a 1-14 to 0-07 victory from Glack, which, coupled with Doire Trasna’s 0-11 to 0-09 defeat at home to Ballerin, handed promotion to Lissan.

Loughgiel Shamrocks became the first side into the Bath Shack Antrim SHC Semi-Final draw this evening with a 3-23 to 0-16 victory over St Gall’s at De La Salle Park.

The 2018 IHC winners were relegated from Division 1, but have one last shot at championship redemption at Corrigan Park against St John’s.

A win for the Milltown Row men would put them into the last four.

#DerryClubLeagues #BathShackSHC