Dunloy, Ballymena

© 2018 by Unit Updates.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

Efficient 'Dawson Dispatch Craigbane

St Joseph’s Craigbane 0-07 St Malachy’s Castledawson 0-12

St Malachy's Castledawson eased through to the Quarter-Final of the McFeely Group Derry IFC with a comfortable victory over a lacklustre St Joseph's Craigbane in Owenbeg on Friday evening.

'Dawson were eight ahead by the time Conor McLaughlin registered Craigbane's first score in the 21st minute, an early barrage of scores from Conor Taggart, Rian Connery, Niall Keenan and Paddy Henry giving them a four-point lead after just six minutes.

St Joseph's struggled to get the ball out of their own half with St Malachy's winning almost every kick out and further points from Connery and Henry combined with Ruairí Shivers and Luke Doyle's white flags opening up that eight point lead.

Things could have been even worse for Craigbane had Conor McGuinness not turned away Conor Taggart's piledriver in the 9th minute, but a late Jude McLaughlin point saw Craigbane reduce the gap to six before half-time.

An early Aidan Keenan score got Castledawson off to a good start in the second half before Craigbane's Oisín O'Donnell drew a great save from Aidan McLaughlin in the 'Dawson goal.

Man of the Match Rian Connery.

The chance sparked St Joseph's into a mini-revival and points from Feargal Mortimer and Jude McLaughlin saw the gap close to five, but by the 49th minute Castledawson had wrestled back control, Luke Doyle and Connery again settling St Malachy's.

Despite losing Brian Rainey to a red card, Craigbane responded well through Blaine Gormley and a further Mortimer free, but the damage had been inflicted and a further Connery score capped a fine individual performance from the half-forward.

Having booked their place in the last eight, 'Dawson can survey the competition throughout the weekend ahead.

St Joseph's Craigbane: Conor McGuinness, Eoin Coll, Aaron McLaughlin, Naoise Ó Mianáin, Niall Cartin, Ruairí Gormley, Conor McLaughlin (0-01), Brian Rainey, Feargal Mortimer (0-03f), Christopher Lowry, Fintan Lynch, Lee Moore, Jude McLaughlin (0-01, 0-01f), Blaine Gormley (0-01), Oisín O’Donnell.

Subs: Deaglán Crossan for Fintan Lynch 30', Ryan Mortimer for Oisín O'Donnell 48', Cathal McLaughlin for Niall Cartin 55'.

St Malachy's Castledawson: Aidan McLaughlin, Ryan Kennedy, Kieran O’Kane, Brian Ludlow, Niall Keenan (0-01), Ruairí Keenan, Tony Gallagher, Odhran Mullan, Declan Lavery, Conor Taggart (0-01), Luke Doyle (0-02), Rian Connery (0-01, 0-02f), Paddy Henry (0-01), Ruairí Shivers (0-01), Aidan Keenan (0-01).

Referee: Terence McElhinney (St Mary's Faughanvale)

Man of the Match: Rian Connery (St Malachy's Castledawson)

#McFeelyGroupIFC #DerryIFC