Dunloy, Ballymena

© 2018 by Unit Updates.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

Title-Winners Confirmed in Both Counties

Rossa celebrate their return to Division 1 with the Division 2 trophy. Pic: Rossa Twitter.

On the final evening of the Antrim ACFL, the league titles finally found a home and the promotion/relegation play-offs were finalised, while Slaughtneil rounded off their Derry SHL campaign by retaining their title.

Erin’s Own clinched the Division 1 title despite defeat in their final game against parish rivals and current holders Creggan. The Kickham’s defeated their neighbours 3-10 to 2-12, a result that gives Cargin the title by eight head-to-head points.

The game doubled as the O’Cahan Cup, where Creggan progress, but there was understandable disappointment that there was no league trophy on site to be presented to the victors.

Elsewhere in the top half, Casement's Portglenone defeated Lámh Dhearg 0-19 to 2-09 at Páirc Uí Chatháin.

Uncertainty surrounds the Division 1B relegation play-off spot. Incumbents Ahoghill recorded an emphatic away win over Gort na Móna, St Mary’s triumphing 5-11 to 0-10.

With the St Brigid’s v St Teresa’s game not going ahead, the result is enough to lift the Cloney men out of the play-off place, but all will hinge on whether or not St Teresa’s have conceded the game against the Malone Road side.

If it is to be replayed, St Brigid’s will need a win to escape the drama of a relegation/promotion play-off tie with Moneyglass.

There was joy for Rossa who finally confirmed their Division 2 title and an immediate return to top flight football with a 3-13 to 0-13 home win over St Ergnat’s Moneyglass. The Shaw’s Road side have one game still outstanding but can now relax and enjoy their Division 2 swansong, while Moneyglass progress to a promotion play-off.

With business already confirmed in Division 2B, bottom side St Patrick’s Lisburn hosted play-off incumbents St Mary’s Rasharkin, with the visitors taking home the points after a 1-09 to 0-10 victory.

Elsewhere, Naomh Séamas edged a narrow game with neighbours Glenavy 1-10 to 1-09 in Crumlin.

St Paul’s rounded off their Division 3 campaign in emphatic style with a 7-14 to 0-04 victory away to O’Donnell’s at MacRory Park, a win that secures the league title despite Ardoyne’s 3-14 to 0-07 defeat of St Agnes’ at Fennell Park.

Ballycastle’s concession to St Comhghall’s means that the North Belfast men are confirmed in the play-off place and will now face Rasharkin for a place in Division 2. They will warm up with one last league game against Laochra Loch Lao.

The Gaeilgeoirí suffered defeat to Éire Óg this evening, the Derriaghy side finishing on the right side of a 1-16 to 2-09 scoreline, while Na Piarsaigh recorded a double-scores 0-18 to 0-09 win over St Malachy’s.

Ruairí Óg made sure they finished in the top three of the Antrim ACHL Division 1 with a 2-17 to 1-15 win over Naomh Eoin at Páirc Mhuire, while Naomh Colum Cille finished their Division 4 campaign with a 2-15 to 2-11 win over defeated Junior B Hurling Finalists All Saints’.

*Division 4 table is incorrect - St Teresa's are champions with Con Magee's runners-up.

In Derry, Slaughtneil ensured their winning margin at the top of the Senior Hurling League was three points as they rounded off the campaign with a 4-23 to 0-13 win over Ballinascreen at Emmet Park.

Both them and runners-up Kevin Lynch HC have secured championship Semi-Final berths, with the Lynch's seeing off Lavey 0-24 to 0-13 on Tuesday evening while Banagher also defeated Swatragh 1-18 to 0-13.

#AntrimACFL #AntrimACHL #DerryClubLeagues