Dunloy, Ballymena

© 2018 by Unit Updates.

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon

TOTY 2019 - The People's Choice

You've seen the official team, now let's have a look at the champions of the proletariat as we reveal our followers' choices for Team of the Year as voted for via Twitter poll.

Powered by SNC Health & Fitness Kilrea.
Goalkeeper | Cúl Báire

Odhran Lynch | O'Donovan Rossa Magherafelt | 229 votes

In the tightest of votes, the marauding Magherafelt netminder takes the slot by just 4 votes from Cargin's John McNabb. The Fermanagh-South Tyrone of our poll. Without the recount.

Corner Backs | Líne Lán-Chúlaí

James O'Connor | O'Connor's GAC Glack | 145 votes

A popular choice for corner back, O'Connor garnered a big vote among the Glack ultras, with Steven Doherty leading the cheerleading.

Sean Kelly | St Ergnat's Moneyglass | 141 votes

An attacking force from corner back, steady promotion from his club's social media accounts has consolidated his vote.

Full Back | Lán-Chúlaí

Darren O'Neill | O'Donovan Rossa Magherafelt | 159 votes

Featured in the Irish News during their SFC campaign, the experienced no. 3 narrowly defeated Naomh Eoin's Ryan McNulty in the public vote.

Half Backs | Leath-Chúlaithe

Declan Lynch | Lámh Dhearg | 213 votes

The Hannahstown and Antrim man had a fine season building attacks from their half back line and like his MP team-mate, tops the poll.

Conor Kearns | O'Donovan Rossa Magherafelt | 173 votes

Already nailed a place in the official Team of the Year, Kearns comes in second with his Rossa team-mate McCluskey a close third.

Centre Half Back | Leath-Chúlaí ar Lár

Justin Crozier | Erin's Own Cargin | 139 votes

The Cargin centre-back becomes the second member of the half-back line to make both line-ups, narrowly seeing off Colm McGoldrick of Eoghan Rua.

Midfield | Lár na Páirce

Danny Heavron | O'Donovan Rossa Magherafelt | 285 votes

Way out in front in the public vote, Heavron clinches a midfield berth in both teams.

Ciaran McFaul | Watty Graham's Glen | 149 votes

Another double-victory for McFaul who appears in both teams alongside midfield rival Danny Heavron.

Half Forwards | Leath-Tosaithe

James Black | Carey Faughs | 183 votes

'Rocket' caps a fine year's work by making the People's Choice Team of the Year at half forward. Tireless and all-action.

Maura Downey | St Mary's Ahoghill | 151 votes

Brought a touch of class to the Bridie McMenamin Shield Final and drove her team to victory with tireless running. Narrowly defeats Eoghan Duffy.

Centre Half Forward | Leath-Tosaí ar Lár

Michael McCann | Erin's Own Cargin | 115 votes

Made the official team last season and the Rolls Royce takes the Centre Three-Quarters slot in the People's Choice in 2019.

Corner Forwards | Lán-Tosaithe

Paddy Cunningham | Lámh Dhearg | 135 votes

The formidable corner forward secures a place in the People's Choice for 2019 alongside his slot in the official team.

Seamus McGarry | Naomh Séamas | 183 votes

An electric attacker in the Aldergrove attack, McGarry takes the no. 15 slot in the People's Choice with a strong chunk of the vote.

Full Forward | Lán-Tosaí

Cormac Boyle | O'Connor's Glack | 114 votes

The popular full-forward clinches a spot by topping a highly-contested poll for the Full Forward slot.

Manager | Bainisteoir

Adrian Cush | O'Donovan Rossa Magherafelt | 91 votes

Secured Rossa's first Derry SFC in 41 years and overcame their numerous detractors with finely tuned tactical displays throughout.

If you haven't already, check out the official Team of the Year here!

Nollaig Shona Daoibh!